European Union (EU) leaders have chosen the new heads of the 28-nation bloc’s institutions for at least the next five years, breaking a three-day deadlock triggered by deep EU divisions.

European Council President Donald Tusk said Tuesday German Defense Minister Ursula von der Leyen was named president of the European Commission and Belgian Prime Minister Charles Michel as the council president.

FILE – German Minister of Defense Ursula von der Leyen speaks in Athens, March 5, 2019.

French monetary expert Christine Legarde was appointed chief of the European Central Bank and Spanish Acting Foreign Minister Josep Borrell was selected as the EU’s foreign affairs chief.

Lawmakers are set to choose the president of the European Parliament on Wednesday in Strasbourg.

The selections capped days of talks aimed at finding a compromise on who should be appointed to the coveted positions.

EU leaders were challenged with naming new leaders who represent the bloc’s political affiliations, population size and the EU’s various regions.

leave a reply